Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Saina wins 8th Big 12 track title

logo_iowa_state_cyclonesWACO, TEXAS – Iowa State All-American Betsy Saina led a Cyclone attack in the 5,000-meter run that took the 1-3-5-7 spots Sunday at the Big 12 Championships. The Iowa State women finished fourth overall with 89 points. Kansas won the women’s competition with 158 points. The Iowa State men finished ninth.

Saina finished first in the race in a Hart-Patterson Track and Field Complex stadium record time of 15:41.64. She was followed by teammates Meaghan Nelson (third), Dani Stack (fifth), and Samantha Bluske (seventh).

“Betsy was tremendous again today,” Iowa State head coach Corey Ihmels said. “I thought that the distance kids in the 5k did a tremendous job. They scored 50 points in the 5k and the 10k combined and that’s pretty impressive.”

Saina, now an eight-time Big 12 Champion, was happy to have one more run at the Big 12 Championships.

“It’s exciting, today was my last Big 12 Championship and so what I wanted to do today was have fun,” Saina said. “When you do something you love it will always be fun and I am happy to have run at the Big 12 Championships again.”

Maggie Gannon and Edwin Serem both placed in the women’s and men’s 1,500-meter finals, respectively. Both Cyclone runners set a personal best time in the race. Gannon finished the race in third 4:26.32. Serem shaved over eight seconds off of his previous best time to run a 3:45.00, good for fourth.

“Maggie put herself in great position, she showed all year long that she is capable of anything,” distance coach Sara Vergote said. “The guys side was really well executed by Edward. He did a great job of putting himself in a good position. The Big 12 is probably the strongest 1,500-meter conference in the country. Edward has improved dramatically over the last month and it has showed.”

Senior Ese Okoro earned third place in the women’s 400-meter hurdles with a time of 57.50. Donnise Powell also competed in the race finshing with a personal best time of 59.25.

Mohamed Hrezi led the men in the 5,000-meter run with a sixth-place finish for the Cyclones. Hrezi’s finished the race in a time of 14:06.22. The Iowa State men finished ninth with 51.50 points. Texas won the men’s side with 146.50.

“The men scored in a lot of different areas, we just didn’t score enough,” Ihmels said. “We made some progress, but we have to get better. We are not that far from being in the top half of the conference. Some kids will need to step up, but we’re excited about the challenge.”

Jan Jeuschede, Nick Efkamp, and Kevin Poster all had personal best marks that resulted in them placing in the final eight.

Jeuschede’s mark of 59-06.75 was good enough for a fourth-place finish in the men’s shot put.

Efkamp, the indoor 400-meter dash champion, earned fifth place in the 400-meter run with a personal best time of 46.70.

Kevin Poster added almost an entire foot to his previous best mark in the triple jump. He finished sixth with a jump of 49-00.75.

The Cyclones return to action May, 12 at the Kansas State Open in Manhattan, Kan. Results will be available on at the conclusion of the meet.

Final standings:

Women: 1) Kansas, 158; 2) Texas, 145; 3) Baylor, 93; 4) IOWA STATE, 89; 5) Oklahoma, 78.50; 6) Texas Tech, 77.50; 7) Kansas State, 66; 8) West Virginia, 40; 9) TCU, 39; 10) Oklahoma State, 33.

Men: 1) Texas, 146.50; 2) Oklahoma, 133; 3) Texas Tech, 117.50; 4) Kansas State, 96; 5) Kansas, 82.50; 6) TCU, 75; 7) Baylor, 61; 8) Oklahoma State, 56; 9) IOWA STATE, 51.50


4×100-meter relay: 1) Kansas, 43.89; 8) IOWA STATE, 48.39.

400-meter dash: 1) Diamond Dixon, Kansas, 51.73; 8) Kendra White, IOWA STATE, 55.10.

400-meter hurdles: 1) Christina Holland, Baylor, 56.81; 3) Ese Okoro, IOWA STATE, 57.50; 5) Donnise Powell, IOWA STATE, 59.25.

4×400-meter relay: 1) Kansas, 3:32.00; 6) IOWA STATE, 3:42.05.

800-meter run: 1) Natalja Piliusina, Oklahoma State, 2:03.99; 4) Ej Okoro, IOWA STATE, 2:06.73.

1,500-meter run: 1) Sara Sutherland, Texas, 4:22.87; 3) Maggie Gannon, IOWA STATE, 4:26.32.

3,000-meter steeplechase: 1) Martina Tresch, Kansas State, 10:10.82; 9) Andrea Toppin, IOWA STATE, 10:43.78; 12) Colleen Riley, IOWA STATE, 10: 52.53.

5,000-meter run: 1) Betsy Saina, IOWA STATE, 15:41.64; 3) Meaghan Nelson, 16:16.34; 5) Dani Stack, IOWA STATE, 16:24.12; 7) Samantha Bluske, IOWA STATE, 16:36.35; 10) Perez Rotich, IOWA STATE, 17:04.74; 11) Katy Moen, IOWA STATE, 17:05.20; 13) Crystal Nelson, IOWA STATE, 17:17.09; 18) Anna Buenneke, IOWA STATE, 17:37.02.

Javelin throw: 1) Avione Allgood, Oklahoma, 171-03; 16) Bree Woelber, IOWA STATE, 110-06; 17) Jordon Andreassen, IOWA STATE, 109-03.

High jump: 1) Shanay Briscoe, Texas, 5-10.00; 9) Kelly McCoy, IOWA STATE, 5-05.75; 11) Hannah Willms, IOWA STATE, 5-03.75.


110-meter hurdles: 1) Tre’ Lathan, Oklahoma, 13.70; 7) Ryan Sander, IOWA STATE, 14.33; 8) Troy Walls, IOWA STATE, 14.79.

200-meter dash: 1) Charles Simon, TCU, 20.33; 7) Ian Warner, IOWA STATE, 21.24.

4×100-meter relay: 1) TCU, 39.61; 5) IOWA STATE, 40.53.

400-meter dash: 1) Kyle Clemons, Kansas, 45.10; 5) Nick Efkamp, IOWA STATE, 46.20.

4×400-meter relay: 1) Kansas, 3:07.72; 8) IOWA STATE, 3:16.74

800-meter run: 1) Nick Rivera, Texas Tech, 1:50.03; 7) Jacob Aune, IOWA STATE, 1:53.90.

1,500-meter run: 1) Patrick Casey, Oklahoma, 3:40.04; 4) Edwin Serem, IOWA STATE, 3:45.00; 8) Falko Zauber, IOWA STATE, 3:50.43; 10) Cullen Wannarka, IOWA STATE, 4:00.43.

3,000-meter steeplechase: 1) Trevor Van Ackeren, Texas, 8:49.74; 12) Brian Llamas, IOWA STATE, 9:31.74.

5,000-meter run: 1) Kirubel Erassa, Oklahoma State, 13:53.53; 6) Mohamed Hrezi, 14:06.22; 14) Edwin Serem, IOWA STATE, 14:42.68; 19) Falko Zauber, IOWA STATE, 15:00.39; 22) Charlie Paul, IOWA STATE, 15:07.17; 23) Stephen Saylor, IOWA STATE, 15:09.66

Shot put: 1) Ryan Crouser, Texas, 69-02.50; 4) Jan Jeuschede, IOWA STATE, 59-06.75.

Triple jump: 1) Cameron Parker, TCU, 53-03.75; 6) Kevin Poster, IOWA STATE, 49-00.75.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x