Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Marble, White, May Earn Big Ten Postseason Recognition

Roy Devyn Marble
Roy Devyn Marble

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa junior Roy Devyn Marble, sophomore Aaron White, and senior Eric May have earned Big Ten men’s basketball postseason accolades. The Big Ten announced its all-conference teams and individual awards Monday evening.

Marble (6-foot-6, 194) was named third team All-Big Ten by the league’s coaches and an honorable mention selection by a media panel. White (6-foot-8, 218) earned third team all-conference laurels by the media and honorable mention accolades by the coaches. May was named the UI men’s basketball Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree. The postseason honor is the first for Marble; White was named to the All-Big Ten Freshman Team a year ago.

Marble, Iowa’s leading scorer at 14.1 points, has reached double figures a team-best 23 times, including scoring 20 or more points seven times. The junior, who was named to the Cancun Challenge All-Tournament team, leads the team in 3-point field goals (38) and led the squad in assists a team-best 12 times. A team co-captain, Marble became just the sixth Hawkeye to amass 1,000+ points, 300+ rebounds, and 200+ assists as a junior. He netted career point No. 1,000 in the first half of Iowa’s regular season finale against Nebraska on March 9. The junior has averaged 17.6 points the last eight games, an average that is fourth-best in the Big Ten since Feb. 9. The native of Southfield, Mich., has made 29 of his last 30 free throws heading into the Big Ten Tournament.

White leads the Hawkeyes in rebounding (6.2), free throws made (165) and attempts (224) and steals (35), and ranks second in scoring (13.6). The native of Strongsville, Ohio, is one of only three Big Ten players to average at least 13.6 points and 6.2 rebounds. White has led the team in scoring a team-best 15 times, rebounds 11 times and steals nine times. Like Marble, White was recognized earlier this season as a member of the Cancun Challenge All-Tournament Team. The junior ranks 17th in the country in free throw attempts (7.2). The last six games leading up to the Big Ten Tournament, White averaged 14.7 points and 7.3 rebounds.

May is a leader on and off the court, having one of his best seasons as a Hawkeye. A team co-captain and the only scholarship senior on the team, May has posted his best offensive rebound average, assist rate, turnover rate and free throw percentage of his career. May has scored in double figures four times this season, including three of the last six games. The Dubuque, Iowa, native has averaged 6.4 points and 5.1 rebounds the last seven outings.

Michigan’s Trey Burke was selected by the league coaches and media as Player of the Year. The coaches and media both named Wisconsin’s Bo Ryan as Coach of the Year.

Conference coaches selected Indiana’s Victor Oladipo as Defensive Player of the Year and the Hoosiers’ Will Sheehey as Sixth Man of the Year.

The coaches and media panel both named Michigan State’s Gary Harris Freshman of the Year. Joining Harris on the coaches’ all-freshman team were Indiana’s Yogi Ferrell, A.J. Hammons of Purdue, Glenn Robinson III of Michigan, and Wisconsin’s Sam Dekker.

The coaches and media each had Indiana’s Victor Oladipo and Cody Zeller, Trey Burke of Michigan, and Ohio State’s DeShaun Thomas on their respective first teams. The fifth player on the coaches’ five-member first squad was Michigan’s Tim Hardaway, Jr., while the media had Ohio State’s Aaron Craft.

Both second teams featured Michigan State’s Gary Harris and Adreian Payne, and Jared Berggren of Wisconsin. Keith Appling of Michigan State and Ohio State’s Craft rounded out the coaches’ second team, while Minnesota’s Trevor Mbakwe and Hardaway, Jr. of Michigan were recognized on the media’s second squad.

Joining Marble on the coaches’ third team was Illinois’ Brandon Paul and D.J. Richardson, Indiana’s Christian Watford, Terone Johnson of Purdue, and Minnesota’s Mbakwe (six players made the team due to a tie). Joining White, Indiana’s Watford and Paul of Illinois on the media’s third team were Appling of Michigan State and Minnesota’s Andre Hollins.

The coaches’ all-defensive team featured Indiana’s Oladipo, Jordan Morgan of Michigan, Ohio State’s Shannon Scott and Craft, and Berggren of Wisconsin.

Iowa begins play at the Big Ten Tournament on Thursday against Northwestern. Tip-off is 8 p.m. (CT) at the United Center in Chicago. The game will be televised on ESPN2.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:


Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x