Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

ISU’s Saina defends Big 12 Indoor 5,000-meter run title

logo_iowa_state_cyclonesAMES, Iowa – Iowa State’s Betsy Saina defended her Big 12 Indoor Track and Field 5,000-meter run championship title Saturday at the Lied Recreation Center. Saina won the race with a 16:07.19 finish. The Cyclones went 1-2-5-7 in the 5,000-meter run, with Meaghan Nelson second, Samantha Bluske fifth and Crystal Nelson seventh. The Iowa State women sit third in the team scoring after day one with 44 points. Kansas leads with 67 points.

Texas leads the men’s team scoring with 47 points. Iowa State is tied for seventh with eight points.

Saina, who had earlier qualified for the mile final, said she wasn’t worried about her 5,000 time as long as she won and was gaining points for the Cyclones.

“My goal for today was to relax, enjoy the race, and just win it,” Saina said. “It wasn’t about pushing myself today. I knew this wasn’t a good time to go for records. I was focused on doing my best to win the team some points, but was using today as a walk through.”

Three Cyclone throwers placed in the top five of the 35-pound weight throw. Laishema Hampton threw the implement 66-04.25 to place third. Danielle Frere was fourth (62-11.50), and Hayli Bozarth fifth (62-04.00).

“The 5k was an event that we had to be big in,” head coach Corey Ihmels said. “We came through and scored 24 points in the race. That was huge for us and we have to come back tomorrow with the same focus. Hats off to our throwers, this effort takes the entire team.”

Iowa State’s Jordon Andreassen gave Iowa State its first team point with an eighth place finish. The Iowa State women’s distance medley relay team placed fifth in 11:33.18. Members of the squad were Maggie Gannon, Ejiro Okoro, Kendra White and Dani Stack.

All four Iowa State women’s 600-yard runners qualified for Sunday’s final. Dana Christensen (1:22.37), Ese Okoro (1:22.94), Krista Shoeman (1:22.99) and Donnise Powell (1:22.73) all advanced. Ejiro Okoro (2:11.88) advanced in the 800 meters.

Iowa Staters Maggie Gannon, Colleen Riley and Perez Rotich all qualified for the 1,000-meter final. Saina and Stack advance in the mile.

Ethan Wilkins is fourth with 3006 after the first day of the heptathlon. Cyclones Taylor Sanderson had 2775 and Matt Harmeyer 2308.

Iowa State’s Nick Efkamp advanced to the 400-meter dash final with a 46.67 effort. He is now the third-best performer all-time in the 400-meter run at Iowa State. Efkamp also qualified in the 200-meter dash with a time of 21.19. Cyclone hurdlers Ryan Sander and Troy Walls advanced to the 60-meter sticks final. Two Iowa State men qualified for the 800-meter run finals, Edward Kemboi and Alec Baldwin eighth.

Iowa State’s Ian Warner rushed to the 60-meter dash final with a time of 6.76.

In the weight throw final, Cyclone Zack Richards (58-08.00) was fourth. Henry Kelley placed seventh (56-03.25) for the Iowa Staters.

Senior Rico Loy advanced to the mile final.

“I thought that we did a good job today,” Ihmels said. “We got quite a few kids through to the finals tomorrow. I thought that our throwers came up big for us today. We had some things not go our way, but for the most part we moved in a very positive direction.”

The Cyclones return to action tomorrow at 11 a.m. with the men’s heptathlon 60-meter hurdles. The women’s events commence with the triple jump at noon. Results will be posted at the conclusion of the meet on

Iowa State Results:


Team point totals: 1) Kansas, 67; 2) Texas, 46; 3) IOWA STATE, 44; 4) Kansas State, 21; 5) Oklahoma State, 15; 6) Oklahoma, 10.50; 7) Baylor, 10; 8) TCU, 9; 9) West Virginia, 7; 10) Texas Tech, 4.50.

Pentathlon: 1) Lindsey Vollmer, Kansas, 4123; 8) Jordon Andreassen, IOWA STATE, 3737; 13) Bree Woelber, IOWA STATE, 3487; 14) Kelly McCoy, IOWA STATE, 3421; 15) Anna Holtermann, IOWA STATE, 3344.

Mile Run (prelims): 1) Patricia Terry, TCU, 4:49.19; 6) Betsy Saina, IOWA STATE, 4:57.52; 7) Dani Stack, IOWA STATE, 4:49.97; 14) Morgan Casey, IOWA STATE, 5:09.03.

60-meter hurdles (prelims): 1) Katie Grimes, Texas Tech, 8.17; 13) Jordon Andreassen, IOWA STATE, 8.85.

600-yard run (prelims): 1) Clara Nichols, Oklahoma State, 1:21.78; 3) Dana Christensen, IOWA STATE, 1:22.37; 4) Ese Okoro, IOWA STATE, 1:22.94; 5) Krista Shoeman, IOWA STATE, 1:22.99; 8) Donnise Powell, IOWA STATE, 1:22.73.

400-meter run (prelims): 1) Briana Nelson, Texas, 53:02; 9) Kendra White, IOWA STATE, 54.98.

1,000-meter run (prelims): 1) Mariah Kelly, Baylor, 2:52.39; 5) Maggie Gannon, IOWA STATE, 2:53.49; 6) Colleen Riley, IOWA STATE, 2:54.33; 8) Perez Rotich, IOWA STATE, 2:56.27.

800-meter run (prelims): 1) Natalja Fillusina, Oklahoma State, 2:07.80; 4) Ejiro Okoro, IOWA STATE, 2:11.88; 10) Emily Meese, IOWA STATE, 2:15.76.

5,000-meter run (finals): 1) Betsy Saina, IOWA STATE, 16:07.19; 2) Meaghan Nelson, IOWA STATE, 16:10.64; 5) Samantha Bluske, IOWA STATE, 16:37.98; 7) Crystal Nelson, IOWA STATE, 16:42.97; 13) Katy Moen, IOWA STATE, 16:59.73.

DMR: 1) Texas, 11:15.90; 5) IOWA STATE, 11:33.18.

Weight Throw (finals): 1) Alena Krechyk, Kansas, 70-01.75; 3) Laishema Hampton, IOWA STATE, 66-04.25; 4) Danielle Frere, IOWA STATE, 62-11.50; 5) Hayli Bozarth, IOWA STATE, 62-04.00.

Long Jump (finals): 1) Francine Simpson, Kansas, 21-07.50; 19) Bree Woelber, IOWA STATE, 17-09.50.


Team point totals: 1) Texas, 47; 2) Kansas, 30.50; T3) Kansas State, 26; T3) Oklahoma, 26; 5) Texas Tech, 23.50; 6) Oklahoma State, 23; T7) Baylor, 8; T7) IOWA STATE, 8; 9) TCU, 3.

Heptathlon day one: 1) Johannes Hock, Texas, 3345; 4) Ethan Wilkins, IOWA STATE, 3006; 8) Taylor Sanderson, IOWA STATE, 2775; 10) Matt Harmeyer, IOWA STATE, 2308.

Mile run (prelims): 1) Josh Munsch, Kansas, 4:05.01; 7) Rico Loy, IOWA STATE, 4:06.50; 12) Brian Llamas, IOWA STATE, 4:17.13.

60-meter hurdles (prelims): 1) Keiron Stewart, Texas, 7.75; 4) Ryan Sander, IOWA STATE, 7.97; 7) Troy Walls, IOWA STATE, 8.14; 12) Brandon Moorman, IOWA STATE, 8.81.

60-meter dash (prelims): 1) Charles Silmon, TCU, 6.65; 6) Ian Warner, IOWA STATE, 6.76; 14) Ryan Sander, IOWA STATE, 6.92.

600-yard run(prelims): 1) Michael Stigler, Kansas, 1:09.57; 13) Jacob Hoogenson, IOWA STATE, 1:14.89; 14) Brandon Barnes, IOWA STATE, 1:15.47.

400-meter dash (prelims): 1) Kyle Clemons, Kansas, 46.44; 2) Nick Efkamp, IOWA STATE, 46.67.

1,000-meter run (prelims): 1) Raul Botezan, Oklahoma State, 2:26.83; 9) Falko Zauber, IOWA STATE, 2:28.28.

800-meter run: 1) Kyle Merber, Texas, 1:51.60; 4) Edward Kemboi, IOWA STATE, 1:52.72; 8) Alec Baldwin, IOWA STATE, 1:52.34; 14) Jacob Aune, IOWA STATE, 1:53.83.

200-meter run: 1) Everett Walker, Baylor, 20.99; 4) Nick Efkamp, IOWA STATE, 21.19; 19) Ivan Tamba, IOWA STATE, 22.37.

5,000-meter run (finals): 1) Kennedy Kithuka, Texas Tech, 13:41.01; 9) Stephen Saylor, IOWA STATE, 14:21.31.

DMR: 1) Oklahoma, 9:42.37; 8) IOWA STATE, 10:14.05.

Weight throw (finals): 1) Nick Miller, Oklahoma State, 67-08.25; 4) Zack Richards, IOWA STATE, 58-08.00; 7) Henry Kelley, IOWA STATE, 56-03.25.

Long jump (finals): 1) Jharyl Bowry, Kansas State, 24-09.00; 10) Ethan Wilkins, IOWA STATE, 22-07.00; 14) Mark Johnson, IOWA STATE, 21-10.75.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:


Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: