Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

NIACC sports weekly update

niacc_trojans_logoMEN’S BASKETBALL

What’s next: The NIACC men’s basketball team (17-9 overall, 4-6 in the ICCAC) plays at Southwestern (13-12, 6-5) on Wednesday. Game time is set for 7:30 p.m.

Last time out: NIACC dropped a 91-87 decision to Iowa Lakes on Feb. 13. Freshman David Humphries (Adelaide, Australia) scored 29 points with 6 rebounds and 8 assists. Sophomore Chris Davis (Colorado Springs, Col.) scored 25 points and had 8 rebounds.

Down the stretch they come: The Trojans sit in seventh place in the league with four games remaining. After Wednesday’s game, the Trojans play at DMACC on Saturday, host Ellsworth (Feb. 27) and play at Clinton (March 2).

Log jam in the middle: Teams in second through seventh place in the league are separated by two games in the loss column. Kirkwood is in second at 7-4, Ellsworth is in third at 6-4 and Southwestern is in fourth at 6-5. DMACC and Iowa Central are tied for fifth at 5-6 and NIACC is in seventh at 4-6.

Did you know? Terry McKissick, who played for the Trojans from 1971-73, is NIACC’s all-time leading scorer with 1,468 career points.


What’s next: The NIACC women’s basketball team (15-12, 8-5) plays at Southwestern (0-26, 0-12) on Wednesday. Game time is set for 5:30 p.m.

Last time out: The Lady Trojans stopped Southeastern 70-55 on Saturday. Freshman guard Lateeka Thompson (Burnsville, Minn.) scored 19 points to lead three players in double figures. Freshman guard Chelsey Jacox (Plymouth, Minn.) scored 15 points and freshman guard Kadejah Young (Minneapolis) scored 10 points and grabbed a career-high 14 rebounds for the Lady Trojans.

Down the stretch they come: NIACC sits in fourth place in the league with three games remaining. The Lady Trojans host play at DMACC Saturday and host Ellsworth on Feb. 27. The top four teams in the league host a first-round Region XI game on March 5.

Did you know? Kris Long, who played for the Lady Trojans from 1988-90, is NIACC’s all-time career steals leader with 242.


What’s next: The NIACC wrestling team competes in the NJCAA national tournament in Des Moines on Friday and Saturday. The meet starts at 9:30 a.m. Friday at the Jacobson Exhibition Center at the Iowa State Fairgrounds. The finals are set for 6 p.m. on Saturday.

Last time out: No. 19 NIACC qualified nine wrestlers for the national meet at the North Central district at Ridgewater College on Feb. 10. Earning national berths for the Trojans were JP Gamez (125), Zach Welter (133), Blake Spotts (141), Sha-Keno Jenkins (149), Dillon Coe (157), Parker Sturges (165), Basil Minto (184), Shakheim Chapman (197) and Alex Stockton (285).

Did you know? Joe Hatchett was NIACC’s first national champion in 1970. Hatchett also won the national title in 1971 to become the school’s only two-time national champion.


What’s next: The NIACC men’s and women’s track teams compete in the NJCAA national indoor meet March 1-2 in Lubbock, Texas.

Last time out: NIACC set three school records at the Region XI meet on Feb. 15-16 in Storm Lake. Sophomore Hillary Garvey (Hudson, Ia.) placed fourth in the 600-meter run in a school-record time of 1 minute, 40.67 seconds. Sophomore Emily Burchett (Mayview, Mo.) won the weight throw (48 feet, 0 3/8 inches).

For the NIACC men, sophomore Jonny Worley (Greene, Ia.) placed third in the 800 in a school-record time of 1:57.43. The Trojans’ Paul Pokana, Alex Lugo, Brock Schultz and Nako Omot set the school record in the 4×400 in 3:24.15 and placed fourth.

Sophomore Trey Taylor (Bloomfield, Conn.) was second in the weight throw (48-6 1/4).

Did you know? Anna Buenneke, who now runs at Iowa State, holds five NIACC indoor school records. She is the school record holder in the 800 (2:23.91), 1,000 (3:07.05), mile (5:11.22), 3,000 (10:15.64) and 5,000 (17:47.01).

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x