Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Track: ISU’s Kemboi Breaks on School Mark in New York

logo_iowa_state_cyclonesNEW YORK, New York – The Iowa State track and field team was led by another record-breaking performance from Edward Kemboi, Friday, in New York, N.Y., at the New Balance Invitational. The Cyclone runner broke his own school-record in the 1,000-meter run with a time of 2:21.89, besting his previous time of 2:22.71 set last month. Kemboi is now the current collegiate national leader in men’s 1,000-meter run.

Ryan Sander set a personal best in the 60-meter hurdles preliminary round with a time of 7.90 and finished ninth in the finals with a time 7.94.

The Cyclone throwers were led by a first-place finish from Christina Hillman with a toss of 55-09.00. Three others also finished in the top ten. Hayli Bozarth finished eighth with a toss of 50-11.50. Danielle Frere came in ninth with a throw of 50-10.00 and Jan Jeuschede led the men with a ninth-place finish with a toss of 55-07.00.

Senior Ese Okoro won the women’s college 400-meter dash in a time of 54.92.

The Iowa State men’s DMR team won first place. Alec Baldwin, Ivan Tamba, Edward Kemboi, and Falko Zauber finished in 9:59.19. The women’s DMR team earned second place with a 11:38.06 effort. The team consisted of: Casey Morgan, Maggie Gannon, Ej Okoro, and Colleen Riley.

Iowa State Results:


400-meter dash College (prelims): 1) Javonte Lipsey, North Carolina, 48.30; 67) Ivan Tamba, IOWA STATE, 50.54.

200-meter dash (prelims): 1)Sadio Diallo, Kennesaw State, 21.62; T40) Ivan Tamba, IOWA STATE, 22.71.

1,000-meter run championship: 1)Edward Kemboi, IOWA STATE, 2:21.89; 17) Alec Bollman, IOWA STATE, 2:29.77; 28) Falko Zauber, IOWA STATE, 2:32.15.

400-meter dash championship (prelims): 1) David Verburg, George Mason, 46.26; 16) Nick Efkamp, IOWA STATE, 48.02;

60-meter hurdles championship (prelims): 1) Spencer Adams, Clemson, 7.66; 7) Ryan Sander, IOWA STATE, 7.90.

60-meter hurdles championship (finals): Spencer Adams, Clemson, 7.59; 9) Ryan Sander, IOWA STATE, 7.94.

60-meter dash championship (prelims): 1) Tevin Hester, Clemson, 6.70; 22) Ian Warner, IOWA STATE, 6.88.

DMR College: 1) IOWA STATE, 9:59.19.

Shot Put championship: 1) Hayden Baillio, Texas, 63-07.75; T9) Jan Jeuschede, IOWA STATE, 55-07.00; 40) Henry Kelley, IOWA STATE, 42-04.00.


60-meter dash championships (prelims): 1) Melissa Caddle, Coppin State, 7.46; 87) Jordon Andreassen, IOWA STATE, 8.41.

60- meter hurdles (prelims): Autumne Franklin, Harvard, 8.80; 14) Jordon Andreassen, IOWA STATE, 9.08; 23) Kelly McCoy, IOWA STATE, 9:17; 35) Bree Woelber, IOWA STATE, 9.33; 59) Anna Holtermann, IOWA STATE, 9.87.

400-meter dash (prelims): 1) Ese Okoro, IOWA STATE, 54.94; 5) Kendra White, IOWA STATE, 55.75; 67) Jessica Nichols, IOWA STATE, 59.18.

500-meter dash (prelims): 1) Kristyn Williams, Stanford, 1:13.39; 11) Dana Christensen, IOWA STATE, 1:16.72.

800-meter run: 1) Charlene Lipsey, LSU, 2:44.20; 27) Colleen Riley, IOWA STATE, 2:56.44; 30) Ej Okoro, IOWA STATE, 2:46.23; 38) Maggie Gannon, IOWA STATE, 2:59.64.

1,000-meter run championship: Charlene Lipsey, LSU, 2:44.20; 3) Ej Okoro, 2:46.23; 27) Colleen Riley IOWA STATE, 2:56.44; 38) Maggie Gannon, IOWA STATE, 2:59.64.

DMR college: 1) Ohio State, 11:33.32; 2) IOWA STATE, 11:38.06.

Shot Put: 1) Cristina Hillman, IOWA STATE, 55-09.00; 8) Hayli Bozarth, IOWA STATE, 50-11.50; 9) Danielle Frere, IOWA STATE, 50-10.00; 29) Laishema Hampton, IOWA STATE, 43-01.00.

Long Jump college: 1) Alexis Easterling, Coppin State, 19-11.00; 17) Bree Woelber, IOWA STATE, 18-00.50; T42) Kelly McCoy, IOWA STATE, 17-00.50; T49) Anna Holtermann, IOWA STATE, 16-09.25.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2024 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x