Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Some New Winners and Some Repeats at the I-35 Speedway

by Jody Spear and Kelly Meyer –

MASON CITY – It was an exciting night at the I-35 Speedway in Mason City Sunday night.

Josh Ruby, #30, from Lakota wins once again. Ruby won the Modified Feature two weeks ago. He didn’t race at the I-35 last week, and Levi Nielsen took First Place, but this week, his return visit, brought him another win with Nielsen coming in second. He started up front, stayed up front and took home the trophy, making him the first this year to win two Modified Features.

Travis Prochaska, #21, took the win for the Stock Cars. He had a good lead, which made it look like he’d have an easy win. Then a caution came out, bringing Joe Willier up close in second. Willier gave it a good fight, but Prochaska’s car wasn’t having any of that. He started putting more distance between first and second place once again, taking in the easy win and trophy.

In Sports Mod action, Kyle Germundson had the lead for most of the Feature. It was coming close to the end of the race and Germundson in the lead, but George Nordman, #90 was right on him. Neither settling on the second place win, they battled it out to the Checker Flag. Nordman, winning by a hair (or bumper). It was so close, the Germundson Team believe they had won, only to find out they received Second Place.

As Nordman was getting out of his car in Victory Lane, the Announcer said, “Happy Birthday Buddy!” Shortly after that, the crowd sang “Happy Birthday” to him.

“I’m happy with that,” said DaLayne Germundson, “after the troubles we’ve had on this car the past month, second is good.” Kyle was standing nearby with a big smile and even went over to Nordman, shook hands and said, “Good Race.”

What an amazing streak of luck Heath Tulp is having. Sunday night he placed first in both his Heat race and the Feature. Jeremy Wagner came in second.

June 24, 2012 Winning order:

Modifieds – Josh Ruby, Levi Nielsen, Todd Stinehart, Curt Badker, Shane Monson, Tyler Prochaska, Jamie Anderson, Clint Wendel, Rob Rose, Kevin Stoa.

Stock Cars – Travis Prochaska, Joe Willier, Andy Altenburg, Derek Green, Mick Meyers, Kevin Opheim, Larry Portis, Shawn Wilson, John Campbell, Jesse Brown, Chris Wiltse, Kellie Schmit, Travis Shipman, Blake Cole, Cody Frerichs.

Sport Mods – George Nordman, Kyle Germundson, Coby Bangusser, Dan Tenold, Nate Chodur, Travis Greenfield, Nick West, Alex Zwanziger, Dustin Enabnit, Daryl Ruter, Logan Swearingen, Adam Ackerman.

Hobby Stocks – Heath Tulp, Jeremy Wagner, Cory Gansen, Kyle Ricke, Zac Smith, Andrew Borchardt, Chanse Hollatz, Pat Zimmerman, Travis Staley, Chad Gentz, Darin Johnson, Stac Schroeder, Britten Swanson, Mike Hughes, Scott Dobel.

Hornets – Kelly Miller, Ryan Bryant, Ken Winkowitsch, Patrick Barrett, Scott Schlichting, Hunter Lee, Jared Schlichting.

Jr. Hornets – Spencer Cole, Taylor Frerichs, Lisa Cole, Sam Winkowitsch, Payne Schroeder, Oliver Monson.

Watch videos:



0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2024 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x