Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Iowa State High Jumpers Highlight Final Night at NCAA West Preliminary

AUSTIN, Texas – Iowa State high jumper Cameron Ostrowski became the Cyclones’ eighth qualifier for the final rounds of the NCAA Championships Saturday night at Mike A. Myers Track.

Iowa State finished the three-day preliminary meet with eight student-athletes advancing to the NCAA Championships June 6-9 at Drake Stadium in Des Moines. The Cyclone men’s team will be represented by Ian Warner in the 100-meter dash, Edward Kemboi in the 800-meter run and Ostrowski in the men’s high jump. The Iowa State women will feature Kianna Elahi and Ese Okoro in the 400-meter hurdles, Meaghan Nelson in the 10,000-meter run and Hayli Bozarth and Danielle Frere in the shot put.

Ostrowski continued his outstanding debut season in an Iowa State uniform on Saturday night. The Burlington, Ill. native was successful on four-of-seven attempted jumps on the day, including a clearance of 7-2 ½ on his third attempt at the height. The effort tied his career-high set on Apr. 21 in the Beach Invitational. The jump was his final of the night, as it put him in fifth place and ensured his spot among the top-12 qualifiers for the final rounds in two weeks.

Derek Alderks also competed in the high jump, finishing in a tie for 22nd place with a 6-9 ¾ jump.

The Cyclones featured a trio of competitors in the women’s hammer throw. Laishema Hampton and Hayli Bozarth finished 31st and 32nd, respectively with throws of 185-6. Danielle Frere took 47th place with an effort of 172-9.

Rico Loy represented Iowa State in the men’s 5,000-meter run, taking 36th place in 15:00.10. Katie Moen represented the Cyclone women in the 5,000 with a 38th place with a time of 17:26.76.

Iowa State also had a pair of relay teams take to the track on Saturday night. The women’s 4×400-meter relay team of Donnise Powell, Ese Okoro, Elahi and Ejiro Okoro finished 18th in 3:40.89. The men’s 4×100-meter dash team of Teddy Lampkin, Nick Efkamp, Patrick Lewis and Ian Warner crossed the line in 20th place with a time of 41.05.

Iowa State’s eight qualifiers for the final rounds of the NCAA Championships will take to Drake Stadium in Des Moines June 6-9. Edward Kemboi will be the first Cyclone in action on June 6 in the semifinal round of the men’s 800-meter run.

NCAA West Preliminary
Men’s Results
5,000-meter run: 1. Cameron Levins (Southern Utah), 14:04.75; 36. Rico Loy (Iowa State), 15:00.10
4×100-meter relay: 1. Texas A&M, 39.11; 20. Iowa State (Lampkin, Efkamp, Lewis, Warner), 41.05
High Jump: 1. Erik Kynard (Kansas State), 7-2 ½; 5. Cameron Ostrowski (Iowa State), 7-2 ½; T-22. Derek Alderks (Iowa State), 6-9 ¾

Women’s Results
5,000-meter run: 1. Megan Goethals (Washington), 15:46.82; 38. Katie Moen (Iowa State), 17:26.76
4×400-meter relay: 1. Oregon, 3:29.43; 18. Iowa State (Powell, Es. Okoro, Elahi, Ej. Okoro), 3:40.89
Hammer Throw: 1. Amanda Bingson (UNLV), 233-1; 31. Laishema Hapton (Iowa State), 185-6; 32. Hayli Bozarth (Iowa State), 185-6; 47. Danielle Frere (Iowa State), 172-9

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: