Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Larry Portis Does it Again at I-35 Races

by Jody Spear and Kelly Meyer –

MASON CITY – Larry Portis (pictured) is having a spectacular 2012 Racing Season at the I-35 Speedway in Mason City.

His hot pink, #59 Stock Car is on fire bringing home another win Sunday night. With Joe Willier right behind him, coming in second, these two always put on a good show. They are fun to watch, and fun to cheer for. Portis was handing out pictures and window stickers to some fans after the race, very proud of his win. (See Portis on video)

“Rob Rose is all over Dustin Brown,” the I-35 Speedway announcer said. Rose was challenging Brown through most of the second half of the race, until, coming around the fourth turn, Rose driving low, takes the lead, along with his first win of the year.

Come out the I-35 Speedway at the North Iowa Events Center Wednesday night, for the United States Modified Touring Series.

Other feature winners were Heath Tulp for Hobby Stock, Kurt Moeding for Sports Mod, Scott Schlichting for Hornets and Wesley Steward for Jr. Hornets.

Full list of winners are:

Modifieds — Rob Rose (car pictured), Dustin Brown, Alex Hanson, Curt Badker, Shane Monson, Keith Schmitz, Denny Anderson, Jamie Anderson, Zach Patterson, Levi Nielsen, Josh Ruby

Stock Cars — Larry Portis, Joe Willier, Kevin Opheim, Dustin Wannarka, Ryan Hiscocks, Blake Cole, Ryan Goergen, Mick Meyers, Kellie Schmit, Travis Shipman, Andy Altenburg, Andrew Inman, Derek Green

Sport Mods — Kurt Moeding, Nate Whitehurst, George Nordman, Nate Chodur, Alex Zwanziger, Adam Ackerman, Shane Swanson, Dan Tenold, Nick West, Travis Greenfield, Coby Bangusser, Dustin Enabnit, Aaron Benson, Robert Black, Kyle Germundson

Hobby Stocks — Heath Tulp, Pat Zimmerman, Cory Gansen, Scott Dobel, Zac Smith, Chad Gentz, Chanse Hollatz, Andrew Borchardt, Travis Staley, Stac Schroeder

Hornets — Scott Schlichting, Ken Winkowitsch, Kelly Miller, Hunter Lee, Harold Stinnett, Jared Schlichting, Ryan Bryant

Jr. Hornets — Wesley Steward, Payne Schroeder, Spencer Cole, Sam Winkowitsch, Oliver Monson, Lisa Cole

Watch video:


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Copyright 2024 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x