Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Iowa State golfer Nate McCoy Earns All-Big 12 First-Team Honors

IRVING, Texas – The Big 12 Conference is one of the best golfing leagues in the nation, and Iowa State’s Nate McCoy is a member of the Big 12 elite. McCoy, who has produced one of the finest seasons in Cyclone golf history this year, was named All-Big 12 First-Team, announced today by the league office.

A native of West Des Moines, Iowa, McCoy is one of 10 golfers to make the All-Big 12 squad. All 10 players are ranked in the top-75 nationally, including McCoy, who is rated No. 54 in the Golfweek individual rankings.

“Nate has done such a great job representing Iowa State throughout his career,” Iowa State head coach Andrew Tank said. “Earning First-Team All-Big 12 is such an impressive honor. He’s worked extremely hard on his game, and to be considered one of the best players in the Big 12 means you are one of the top players in the nation. He will go down as one of the greatest ever to compete at Iowa State.”

The senior has finished in the top-10 in seven of 12 tournaments this season while compiling a 71.68 stroke average, which is a smidgen shy of the current single-season Cyclone scoring mark held by Chris Baker (71.66, 2007-08). McCoy has won three tournament titles in his career, including two this season (Rees Jones Invite & Hawkeye Invitational).

McCoy joins Jason Knutzon (1997), Donnie Teeter (1997), Matt Lewis (1998) and Baker (2008) as Cyclones to earn All-Big 12 First-Team honors. McCoy’s season is expected to continue. He is a lock to earn an individual spot to one of six NCAA men’s golf regional sites. However, the Cyclones as a team are also in solid position to secure their first postseason bid since 1999. Iowa State is ranked 55th nationally in the latest Golfweek rankings.

Regional invitations will be handed out on Monday (May 7).

2012 First-Team All-Big 12 – Golfweek national ranking in parentheses
Jordan Spieth, Texas (1)
Dylan Frittelli, Texas (2)
Julio Vegas, Texas (16)
Taylor Gooch, Oklahoma State (28)
Joakim Mikkelsen, Baylor (35)
Cameron Peck, Texas A&M (41)
Nate McCoy, Iowa State (54)
Jace Long, Missouri (61)
Toni Hakula, Texas (62)
Jordan Russell, Texas A&M (71)

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x