Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Sander Wins for Cyclone Track in NY

NEW YORK – The Iowa State track and field team concluded its first day of competition Friday at the New Balance Invitational inside The Armory. The Cyclones came away with an event title and three personal best marks.

Ryan Sander gave the Cyclones a strong start to the weekend, winning both the preliminary and final rounds of the College Division 60-meter hurdles. The Iowa State sophomore won the prelims with a time of 8.24 and the finals in 8.22.

Cyclone thrower Hayli Bozarth highlighted competition for the Iowa State women, as she earned a fifth-place finish in the Championship Division of the shot put. Bozarth’s best mark in the competition ws 51-00.00. She will compete again tomorrow in the Championship Division of the weight throw.

The New Balance Invitational continues tomorrow from The Armory. The Cyclones are first set to compete at 10 a.m. CST in the men’s mile run. Live results and a live video feed are available through Results will be posted on at the conclusion of the day’s events.

Iowa State Results
60-meter dash (Championship Division Prelims): 1) D’Angelo Cherry, Mississippi State, 6.60; 6) Ian Warner, IOWA STATE, 6.71
60-meter dash (Championship Division Finals): 1)D’Angelo Cherry, Mississippi State, 6.63; 7) Ian Warner, IOWA STATE, 6.73
60-meter hurdles (College Division Prelims): 1) Ryan Sander, IOWA STATE, 8.24
60-meter hurdles (College Division Finals): 1) Ryan Sander, IOWA STATE, 8.22
60-meter hurdles (Championship Division Prelims): 1) Jarret Eaton, Syracuse, 7.63; 50) Nick Efkamp, IOWA STATE, 8.53
200-meter dash (College Division Prelims): 1) Oluwasegun Makinde, Ottawa, 21.69; 46) Pat Lewis, IOWA STATE, 22.83
1000-meter run (Championship Division): 1) Patrick Shoenball, Baylor, 2:23.68; 6) Daniel Gruber, IOWA STATE, 2:26.50; 31) Brandon Barnes, IOWA STATE, 2:32.83
Distance Medley Relay (Championship Division): 1) Texas A&M, 9:29.71; 9) IOWA STATE, 9:58.54

Long Jump (College Division): 1) Brian Richards, Long Island, 24-00.75; T2) Teddy Lampkin, IOWA STATE, 23-10.00; 5) Akeem Holmes, IOWA STATE, 23-03.50
High Jump (College Division): 1) Torian Ware, Clemson, 6-08.25; 4) Troy Walls, IOWA STATE, 6-08.25; T7) Derek Alderks, IOWA STATE, 6-08.25

60-meter hurdles (College Division): 1) Jasmine Cotton, Cincinnati, 8.61; 9) Jordon Andreassen, IOWA STATE, 8.77; 51) Bree Woelber, IOWA STATE, 9.34; 54) Kelly McCoy, IOWA STATE, 9.40
400-meter dash (College Division Prelims): 1) Zoey Russell, North Carolina, 54.77; 19) Dana Christensen, IOWA STATE, 57.47
400-meter dash (Championship Division Prelims): 1) Marlena Brown, Clemson, 53.71; 21) Kianna Elahi, IOWA STATE, 55.69; 37) Ese Okoro, IOWA STATE, 56.73
500-meter dash (College Division): 1) Martine Borge, Arkansas, 1:13.05; 9) Krista Shoeman, IOWA STATE, 1:15.13; 13) Donnise Powell, IOWA STATE; 1:15.77
1000-meter run (Championship Division): 1) Charlene Lipsey, LSU, 2:44.34; 10) Ejiro Okoro, IOWA STATE, 2:52.90;

Long Jump (College Division): 1) Erica Bougard, Mississippi State, 19-07.50; 66) Bree Woelber, IOWA STATE, 15-07.00
Shot Put (Championship Division): 1) Skylar White, Baylor, 56-10.00; 5) Hayli Bozarth, IOWA STATE, 51-00.00; 10) Christina Hillman, IOWA STATE, 48-05.50; 47) Tressa Borchardt, IOWA STATE, 40-00.50

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: