Breakthrough Web Design - 515-897-1144 - Web sites for businesses
News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Founded October 1, 2010

Mitchell County receives disaster declaration from USDA

This news story was published on November 15, 2011.
Advertise on NIT Subscribe to NIT

DES MOINES – The Office of Gov. Branstad has received notification that the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) has granted Gov. Branstad’s request for a disaster declaration for Mitchell County, Iowa, after high winds damaged crops on September, 2, 2011.

In accordance with 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Floyd, Howard, and Worth were named as contiguous disaster counties.

Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operations in both primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Disaster assistance includes FSA emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) Program.

Farmers in the eligible counties have eight months from the date of Secretarial disaster declaration, November 9, 2011, to apply for emergency loan assistance. SURE Program applications for 2011 crop losses will be accepted in 2012, when the 2011 farm revenue data required by statute becomes available.

Farmers looking for more information are encouraged to visit their local FSA offices.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 characters available