Breakthrough Web Design - 641-201-1459 - Build Your Online Presence
News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the North Iowa Region
Expert Web Design
for your business

CALL 641-201-1459
• Founded 2010

Branstad, Reynolds announce creation of IPEP board

This news story was published on October 24, 2011.
Advertise on NIT Subscribe to NIT

DES MOINES – Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds today announced that Gov. Branstad will sign Executive Order Number Seventy-Five to create the Iowa Partnership for Economic Progress (IPEP).

The new board will focus on job creation, identifying emerging global markets, harnessing competitive economic forces, increasing the income of Iowa families and growing Iowa’s economy.

“My administration’s focus remains on job creation,” said Gov. Branstad. “This new Iowa Partnership for Economic Progress board will be on the forefront of identifying business and industry to bring to Iowa. As we saw last week with CJ CheilJedang Corporation, and in the letter attached, a proactive approach to economic development can yield huge dividends for Iowa. We believe this board will play an important role in future job creation and business attraction.”

The IPEP board will be comprised of no more than 15 members appointed by the governor. The partnership will include the following four ex-officio, non-voting members: the chair of the economic authority board, the head of the Iowa Innovation Corporation, the director of the economic development authority and the governor, or his designee.

The 11 other members will be individuals who are actively engaged in the private, for profit sector of the economy or have experience in private sector job creation and economic development.

“The goal of this board will be to develop a strategic vision for economic development and private-sector job creation,” said Reynolds. “This board will be a great resource for us as we continue working to create jobs for Iowans.”

The economic development authority will provide staff support to IPEP, as needed. Initially, terms of members will be staggered with five members appointed to an initial one-year term and six members appointed to an initial two-year term. The members will serve at the pleasure of the governor, without compensation and in an advisory capacity. The board members are subject to Senate confirmation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 characters available