Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

RSVP of North Central Iowa Recognizes Volunteers During National Volunteer Week April 10-16, 2011

RSVP of North Central Iowa Recognizes Volunteers During
National Volunteer Week April 10-16, 2011

National Volunteer Week 2011, Celebrating People in Action, honors those who dedicate themselves to taking action and bettering their communities. It’s also about inspiring, recognizing and encouraging people to seek out imaginative ways to engage in their communities ñ to put themselves at the center of social change. RSVP of North Central Iowa, sponsored by North Iowa Area Community College, applauds the efforts of volunteers who serve in elementary and middles schools across North Iowa.

“RSVP volunteers give freely of their time to mentor and tutor area students. Reading is an essential part of an education as well as our society,” said Molly Anderegg, director of RSVP of North Central Iowa. “Volunteers truly aspire to help students improve their literacy skills and want them to fall in love with reading, as many of them have. They are a positive influence on children and we appreciate their dedication and commitment.”

RSVP currently serves 181 volunteers in Cerro Gordo, Hancock, Winnebago and Worth counties where volunteers work with 393 students in 12 schools. Volunteer opportunities include Reading Coaches (volunteers who work with middle school students), Reading Buddies (volunteers who work in groups or one-on-one with elementary students) and Breakfast Buddies (volunteers who meet with students while they eat breakfast at school). “I have seen the Reading Buddy program thrive in both Mason City and Clear Lake. We have approximately 30 volunteers working with 60 elementary students to improve their reading skills,” stated Anita Micich, superintendent for Mason City and Clear Lake Schools. “RSVP is a wonderful asset in our communities.”

RSVP thanks the following advisory board members and volunteers (listed by home town) who make a difference:

Advisory Council ñ Britt: Brenda Hanson; Buffalo Center: Joe Angstman; Clear Lake: John Severtson; Forest City: Tony Coloff, Mike Ebaugh; Garner: Joan Hanson; Manly: Andrew Hill; Mason City: Adriana Attleson, Tim Fleming, Craig Hickok, Sharon Steckman; Northwood: Janis Borum;

Volunteers ñ Britt: Myra Bowman, Marilyn Bruns, Norma Burgardt, Lois DeLeon, Beverly Diemer, Judy Eckels, Judy Fox, Brenda Hanson, Esther Higdon, Don Kopacek, Kay Kopacek, Teresa Leerar, Leola Nedved, Beverly Nelson, Carole Penning, Carol Rork, Darrell Schaper, Jean Sheets, Robin Sweers,Shirley Tegtmeyer, Marilyn Tjaden, Elaine Weiland; Buffalo Center: Joe Angstman, Pam Angstman, Vonnie Pilgrim-Bosma Betty Coxson, Marlys Dotseth, Betty Elman, Linda Friesenborg, Roderick Hansen, Betty Kloster-Delgado, Dr. John Laflen, Joyce Landheer, Beverly Larson, Arlene Thorland; Clear Lake: Ellen Anderson, Jane Angle Janet Christensen, Connie Clapsaddle-Heine, Edwina Claude, David Curtis, Mary Curtis, Diane Harrison, Ellen Jandebeur, Sally Kennedy, Joyce Knorr, Charlene Lee, Marsha Mott, Sandy Nyhus, Bill (Oz) Osmundson, Sharron Rule, Alyce Wilson; Forest City: Judy Anderson, JoAnn Bartleson, Dolores Blake, Barb Braun, Mike Ebaugh, Marilyn Erding, Dr. Carroll Gustafson, Joan Hansen, Shirley Hanson, Erma Hill, Sue Hoeft, Mary Lou Johnson, Aidan Kelly, Carol Kleveland, Roberta Kraft-Abrahamson, Ron Kvale, Diane Lovick, Anita Oleson, Kathy Olson, Karolyn Overlie, Patricia Peterson, Miriam Rogness, Tiny Shelton, Clarine Snyder, Betty Soderling, Kay Sorenson, Harley Urbatsch, Inghild VanAuken, Dan Williams, Elsie Willig, Liz Wilson; Garner: Val Anderson, Nellie Bird, Carrol Boehnke, Dolores Boehnke, Lavon Brown, Diane Deibler, Kathy Gibbs, Faye Greiman, Muriel Haberkamp, Linda Hamilton, Jan Hana, Linda Hoppel, Anne Hustrulid, Sharlene Jaspersen, Kay Karsjens, Eunice Kinsella, Merikay Mestad, Nancy Nelson, Louise Piper, Patricia Pool, Nancy Tammen; Hanlontown: Joyce Calgaard; Joice: Valeda Abbey, Judy Tenold; Kanawha: Shirley Baker, Jan Cooper, Pat Hartwig, Kathy Johnson, Pat Kraft, Irene Raber, Pat Sampson, Mary Schreiber; Klemme: Dorothy Denny; Lake Mills: Norma Adams, Ethel Christianson, Ellyn Harmon, Helene Iverson, Helen Kelso, Phyllis Moen, Marietta Norris, Jo Ann Villa; Lakota: Beth Ervin, Rena Steele; Leland: Judy Ambroson, Ann Walrod; Manly: JoAnn Andera, Betty Benjegerdes, Mike Romig, Bess Tweeten; Mason City: Margaret Argos, Adriana Attleson, Judy Bohn, Marie Borchardt, Karen Byrne, Ralph Cassady, Kathryn Colville, Kathleen Crabtree, Margaret Dunbar, Marlene Fruedenberg, Ruth Geilenfeld, Craig Hickok, Cathy Homan, Maria Hubbard, Peg Hugo, Joyce Konigsmark, Charlotte Locher, Pam Loeckle, Georgia Luker, Gayle McCourt, Bonnie McCoy, Alice Mealy, Jan Nierling, Marsha Nord, Stanley Olson, Coni Samsel, Karen Slife, Peggy Solberg, Vicki Stangler, Mary Stanton, Linda Staudt, Mary Kay Stricker, Nancy Sweetman, Stuart Vold, Judy Wagner, Mary Wilson; Northwood: Judy Balkenende, Janis Borum, Donna Hagen, Blanche Hogen, Marcia Kraft, Thelma Krull-Boutelle, Frances Lawhorn, Jo Moretz, Sandra Nitcher, Stephanie Perkins, Helen Senne, Sharon Sietsema; Rake: Louise Hagedorn Thompson: Beverly Aalgaard, Shirley Miller, Charissa Olson; Ventura Heights: Janelle Renner.

If you are 55+ and would like to volunteer, please contact the RSVP office. For more information on RSVP of North Central Iowa, visit or contact 1-888-466-4222 ext. 4256, (641) 422-4256 or RSVP of North Central Iowa serves the counties of Cerro Gordo, Hancock, Winnebago and Worth responding to priority community needs by providing meaningful, purposeful volunteer opportunities for people ages 55 and over.

RSVP is sponsored by North Iowa Area Community College and is partly funded by the Corporation for National and Community Service, State of Iowa, United Way of North Central Iowa and local county governments.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:


Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: