Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

North Iowa Concert Band Presents Spring Concert April 5, 2011

The North Iowa Concert Band, under the direction of John Klemas, will present a Spring Concert on Tuesday, April 5 at 7:30 p.m. in the North Iowa Community Auditorium on the North Iowa Area Community College campus.

Kaitlin Koschmeder, daughter of Roger and Krista Koschmeder, will be the featured bassoon soloist during the concert. Koschmeder, a 2009 graduate of Osage High School, began her musical career 10 years ago on the flute, then switched to bassoon eight years ago. Her high school musical career included participation in pep band, concert band, solo and ensemble contests, Iowa Bandmasters Association (IBA), and the Mason City Municipal Band. Koschmeder is currently working towards her Associates in Arts degree in business and is employed as the Assistant Manager at Casey’s General Store in Osage. (See photo at right.)

The program will include the following pieces: “Firework” by Jan Van der Roost; “Florentiner March” (Grande March Italiana) by Julius Fu_ik, edited by Frederick Fennell; “Concert Piece” by Burrill Phillips, featuring bassoon soloist Kaitlin Koschmeder; “The Sinfonians” (Symphonic March) by Clifton Williams; “Irish Tune From County Derry” by Percy Grainger, edited by R. Mark Rogers; “Symphonic Dance No. 3, Fiesta” by Clifton Williams.

The North Iowa Concert Band musicians represent communities from all over North Iowa. Members of the North Iowa Concert Band, and their hometowns, include:

Belmond: Mike Stittsworth
Britt: Janel Harms
Buffalo Center: Amy Cook
Cedar Rapids: Kevin Kenel
Charles City: Naomi Bienfang, Kate Campbell, Alexander Dalton and Laura Paarmann
Clarion: Jenna Dorsey
Clear Lake: Tammy Aberson, Dan Djuren, Gina Hacker, Barb Halbach, Jake Larsen, Don Lomen, Ken Schneider and Don Thompson
Dallas Center: Scott Towers
Fertile: Cade Christensen
Floyd: Eleanor Waid
Greene: Ann Stark
Hampton: Sarah Owen, Becky Palmer, and Brian Stevens
Lake Mills: Caryl Dahn and Franklin Dahn
Latimer: Randy Riebkes
Manly: Amy O’Connell
Marble Rock: Brittany Schrage
Mason City: Jared Barnes, Chris Bell, Scott Bell, Dan Bodtke, Chuck Cooper, Robert Davis, Jill Dobel, Dalton Ebel, Josh Foster, Joyce Hanes, Paul Hanson, Robb Holtz, Gary Howell, Adrienne James, Dennis Klemas, Dave Kovarna, Susan Kovarna, David Kropman, Leah Lukes, Bart Meinke, Carol Meyer, Reed Peterson, Kim Reisinger, Louise Ruschoff, Kellie Schultz, Kevin Schultz, Sally Slocum, Donna Smith, E. Howard Sonksen, Ashley Stone, Holly Stone, Steve VandenBerg, Harvey VonWald and Allia Yarrow;
Nashua: Carly Demro and Jessica Wagner
Nora Springs: Bernie Bjorklund and Katy Hutzel
Northwood: Stefan Grahn
Osage: Laurie Hoeppner, Clark Janka, Kaitlin Koschmeder and Adam Mark
Rockford: John Johannsen, and Sandra Willman
Rudd: Larissa Koehler and Shannon Wood
Sheffield: Casey Grove
Waverly: Roger Hoeper

Tickets for the performance are $5 for adults and can be purchased by calling the NIACC Business Office (641) 422-4188. Tickets will also be available at the door the night of the concert. All students will receive free admission. A reception in the Muse-Norris Conference Center will be held following the concert.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:


Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: