Founded in 2010

News & Entertainment for Mason City, Clear Lake & the Entire North Iowa Region

Seven Panthers Named to Western Wrestling Conference All-Conference Squads

OREM, Utah ñ The Western Wrestling Conference announced its All-Conference teams for the 2010-11 season on Monday.|OREM, Utah ñ The Western Wrestling Conference announced its All-Conference teams for the 2010-11 season on Monday. The University of Northern Iowa found seven wrestlers on all-conference teams including two on the first team, four on the second team and one on the third team.

Individuals earned spots on the respective teams with their finish at the 2011 NCAA West Regional on March 6 in Colorado Springs, Colo. All seven league schools competed at the West Regional.

Ryan Loder (184 lbs.) and Christian Brantley (Hwt.) each landed a spot on the first team after claiming their respective weight class titles at the NCAA West Regional. Caleb Flores (125 lbs.), Brett Robbins (149 lbs.), David Bonin (157 lbs.) and Andy OLoughlin all represented the Panthers on the second team whlie Joey Lazor (141 lbs.) earned a spot on the third team.

Five defending West Regional individual champions successfully kept their titles and earned First Team All-WWC honors, including Wyoming’s Michael Martinez (125), Utah Valley’s Flint Ray (133), North Dakota State’s Vince Salminen (157), UW’s Shane Onufer (165) and Northern Iowa’s Brantley (Hwt.). Brantley, Martinez and Onufer all won their third consecutive titles to earn their third straight first team honors.

Eight of the 10 members named to the First Team All-Conference were repeat winners from one of the three all conference squads. The only newcomers to earn first team honors were two redshirt freshmen in UW’s Patrick Martinez (174) and UNI’s Loder (184). In fact 17 of the 30 student-athletes named All-WWC are multi-year winners.

Team-wise, Wyoming led the way with five first-team honorees. Northern Iowa was next with two spots on the first team, while Air Force, North Dakota State and Utah Valley held down one spot apiece. In all, the Cowboys and Panthers led the way with seven all-conference honorees. The Falcons had six wrestlers earn all-league honors and the Wolverines saw four of their grapplers earn all-conference honors. Each WWC school had at least one individual on the all-conference squads.

The Western Wrestling Conference is comprised of seven schools including the Air Force Academy, North Dakota State, Northern Colorado, Northern Iowa, South Dakota State, Utah Valley and Wyoming.


125 ñ Michael Martinez (Wyoming), Jr., Pagosa Springs, Colo. (Pagosa Springs HS)**

133 ñ Flint Ray (UVU), Sr., Roy, Utah (Roy HS)*

141 ñ Cole VonOhlen (AFA), So., Jackson, Minn. (Jackson County Central HS)*

149 ñ Cole Dallaserra (Wyoming), Sr., Butte, Mont. (Butte HS)**

157 ñ Vince Salminen (NDSU), Sr., Billings, Mont. (Skyview HS)*

165 ñ Shane Onufer (Wyoming), Jr., Auburn, Wash. (Auburn HS)**

174 ñ Patrick Martinez (Wyoming), RFr., Hemet, Calif. (Temecula Valley HS)

184 ñ Ryan Loder (UNI), RFr., Granite Bay, Calif. (Granite Bay HS)

197 ñ LJ Helbig (Wyoming), So., Mason, Mich. (Mason HS)*

285 ñ Christian Brantley (UNI), Jr., Homewood, Ill. (Mount Carmel HS)**


125 ñ Caleb Flores (UNI), Sr., Rosemead, Calif. (Northview HS)*

133 ñ Casey Cruz (UNC), Jr., Colorado Springs, Colo. (Wasson HS)

141 ñ Justin Morrill (UVU), Sr., Logan, Utah (Mountain Crest HS)*

149 ñ Brett Robbins (UNI), Sr., Bloomington, Ill. (Bloomington HS)

157 ñ David Bonin (UNI), So., Broussard, La. (Comeaux HS)*

165 ñ Steven Monk (NDSU), RFr., Wausau, Wis. (Wausau West HS)

174 ñ Joseph Stafford (AFA), Sr., Loomis, Calif. (Del Oro HS)

184 ñ Joe LeBlanc (Wyoming), Jr., Meeker, Colo. (Meeker HS)**

197 ñ Andy OLoughlin (UNI), Sr., Independence, Iowa (Independence HS)**

285 ñ Matthew McLaughlin (Wyoming), Murphysboro, Ill. (Murphysboro HS)


125 ñ Benjamin Kjar (UVU), Sr., Centerville, Utah (Viewmont HS)*

133 ñ Derek Gillespie (AFA), Sr., Chesapeake, Va. (Great Bridge HS)*

141 ñ Joey Lazor (UNI), So., McDonough, Ga. (Union Grove HS)

149 ñ Justin Gaethje (UNC), Sr., Safford, Ariz. (Safford HS)*

157 ñ Nick Flynn (SDSU), Jr., Lansing, Kan., (Lansing HS)

165 ñ Clayton Gable (AFA), So., Dallastown, Pa. (Dallastown Area HS)

174 ñ Brad Darrington (UVU), Jr., Shelley, Idaho (Shelley HS)*

184 ñ Kenny Moenkedick (NDSU), Sr., Perham, Minn. (Perham HS)

197 ñ Neil Delaney (AFA), Sr., Grand Rapids, Mich. (Forest Hills Central HS)

285 ñ Jared Erickson (AFA), So., Newton, Utah (Sky View HS)

* denotes two-time honoree

** denotes three-time honoree

*** denotes four-time honoree

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Even more news:

Need help with your website?
Call your local professional,
Breakthrough Web Design:
or go to

Copyright 2022 – Internet Marketing Pros. of Iowa, Inc.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
%d bloggers like this: